Following the application of Law no. 240 of 30 December 2010 concerning the organization of Universities (the so-called “Gelmini law”), all Faculties have now been substituted by new organizational structures, i.e. Departments. These Departments are the principal centres for scientific research, teaching and training.

In the place of the previous 9 faculties, the University of Siena now has 15 Departments.